Skip to content
From Simple to Sublime

February 1, 2012

Last summer I embarked upon the arduous journey to a better me – from the inside out. It has not been easy, nor have my travels been perfect. I took a few detours along the way, but despite that I am better. The point is not to be perfect, but to start. And anyway, what good is a trip without the occasional divergence? Those are the moments that make life interesting, and perhaps we learn a little bit more about ourselves.

The first leg of the journey, as I stated before, was simply to get started. For me, that’s always the hardest. But one day while poking around on HARO, I saw a line that peaked my interest. Paraphrasing, “do you want to lose 10-25lbs?” I thought to myself, “Yes! that’s exactly what I want to do.” As I kept reading, I was introduced to this simple workout concept that makes it easy to remain consistent. The program had only 3 exercise requirements, there was a personal encourager by way of email, and it was FREE. So all of my excuses were anihilated. I began walking everyday and doing pushups and crunches every night. Simple right? It really was, and little by little I became stronger. My pushups went from 5 – 20 in one set, and I’ve increased my crunches from 20 to 50. This within 4 weeks of consistent, simple work.

Today, I am in my 3rd week of boot camp. And just in case you haven’t heard, boot camps are not easy. They aren’t supposed to be; they are meant to push you to the next level. Now, I’m up to 100 crunches in one sitting and ALMOST 30 pushups. David Nash of Pinnacle Fitness is taking no prisoners; once we hit those doors it’s ON. Somedays it’s a struggle, but once I get through class I am so glad I did. I feel good, from the inside out. I feel a sense of accomplishment, my mind is clear, and I’m relaxed. The drudgery of the day has been wiped clean, leaving a clean slate for what’s next.

English: New building of Ebenezer Baptist Chur...

Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church: Image via Wikipedia

With In to Out being the foundation for this blog, just imagine my excitement when I learned that my church (The Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church, Atlanta, GA) was beginning a series entitled, Putting God First in Faith, Finance, Fellowship, and Fitness. This bible study, in conjunction with the church fast, resonated in my soul. Being so inspired, I’d never been more committed to my goals. Lesson, when beginning any new endeavor, place yourself in a supportive circle of like-minded individuals. Not those that will support excuses.

Last Wednesday we concluded the series with this question, is God concerned with our fitness? The answer is a resounding YES! YES He is! And we will continue along this vein for the next couple of weeks expounding on health and wellness. How cool is that? Now hundreds of people in the Atlanta area can’t say ‘they didn’t know’. Type II diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and other avoidable illnesses are less threatening because people are getting educated.

Here are more good things I’ve experienced on my journey: I have a heightened sense of self-awareness and more sensitivity towards others; I am ‘quieter’ on the inside-it doesn’t take me so long to focus; my skin is brighter and clearer; I have more energy during the day, and at night I sleep deeply; my tummy is flatter, digestion is more consistent; my teeth are whiter from having had no coffee; and did I say I’ve lost over 10lbs?

My hope is that everyone who reads this will become inspired to enhance themselves, to be better in some way. If you have any questions or you want to share your story, please post. Your words accomplish more than you know.

Live Healthy. Look Healthy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 12:46 pm

    Good for you:)) Making that healthful transition is not an easy task to pull off, by any means. Glad to see it’s becoming a part of your everyday life now. Great post and I look forward to sharing more from you:)

  2. Jacqueline Lott Jackson permalink
    February 1, 2012 1:32 pm

    Lahronda,

    This is sooo inspiring.

    Similar to you it takes a minute for me to get started. But I in fact have gotten started. I am working on me from the inside out. I have started small, but have been working to be consistent by doing a minimum of 30 minutes of exercise daily, no sodas and drinking a minimum of 64 ounces of water daily …

    I am excited to see where God will take me in this journey as I put him first in my fitness … no problem with putting him first in my faith, finances and fellowship … so pray with me as I allow God to help me take that same focus in my fitness … I know what to do, it’s just doing it.

    • February 1, 2012 3:27 pm

      Congratulations Jacque. This goes to show that we don’t all have the same gifting, therefore, we need to be a part of a ‘body’. I certainly need prayers in the faith/finance dept.

  3. February 1, 2012 6:26 pm

    What a great journey and message! I think personal improvement is vital to health and happiness, and fitness is such an important part of that. Your story is another great example of the many benefits fitness can bring, so keep at it! 🙂

    I’m also excited to hear about your church’s fitness series. I hadn’t seen fitness and church brought together like this before, and it strikes me as a powerful source of strength, community, and support to promote fitness as a path to better health. I’m glad you’re involved and keep us readers in the loop on how it goes.

  4. February 1, 2012 9:01 pm

    Thank you! And hopefully a trend will ensue throughout our communities such that wholeness becomes the norm – in faith AND fitness.

Trackbacks

  1. What True Fellowship Feels Like « Live Healthy, Look Healthy

Leave a Reply

