Skip to content
Nu Snack, Nu Comfort, Nutella!

December 8, 2011

By now you know that from time to time I enjoy a good wholesome and tasty snack, and I think I’ve found another one that must be tried by all.

For the past year I’ve heard murmurings from co-workers about this stuff called Nutella®. These conversations were interesting to say the least, with words thrown around like ‘addiction’, ‘crack in a jar’, and ‘get your own’. The practical person that I am thought surely this stuff can’t command that much attention. I mean at best it’s souped up peanut butter, come on.

Well, one day while strolling down the aisle at Wal-Mart I spied this cute little brown cup that had two sides: one side of Nutella® spread, the other side had what I will call cookie sticks. The perfect opportunity to give this stuff a try, so I made my purchase and went on to my car.

Now,Wal-Mart is less than 5 miles from my home, but for some reason that little brown cup would not let me wait. And besides that, I didn ‘t want my two little ones asking for it. Yeah, yeah – don’t judge me. So as I pulled back the top, the first thing that struck me was the shear aroma of hazelnuts and chocolate – divine. The spread looked smooth as silk, and the cookie sticks were nice and crisp. Intuitively, I took one of them and dipped it in the spread. And yes, I immediately understood why my co-worker calls it ‘crack in a jar’. This stuff was da’ BOMB!

After I got over the initial taste (and the second and the third), I peaked at the nutrition chart.  Yes peaked, because anything that tastes this good can’t be all that nutritional – right?  The first thing I noticed was the calorie count: 200/ 2tbsp. serving size which is higher than peanut butter. However, the fat content is 31% lower than peanut butter and the sodium content is 90% lower!

**Another thought to consider before diving into that jar is the amount of carbs. At 22g of carbs per serving size, Nutella® may not be considered a low carb option.

But getting back to the taste, this spread is simply made from hazel nuts, cocoa, and skim milk. And it is delicious. Combined with a piece whole wheat toast, a few slices of fruit, and a glass of milk, one will be well-fueled until the next meal. But I have to say that eating Nutella for any meal is a bit difficult to conceive due to its dessert-like taste. I’m sure the kids wouldn’t have that same concern though.

And speaking of the kids, I did share with them – eventually.
~Live Healthy. Look Healthy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April FLOYD permalink
    December 8, 2011 9:42 pm

    Thank you for the review now I will go out and try it for myself …..

  2. January 9, 2012 11:56 pm

    I’m a fan, too. Had a streak where I made Nutella crepes, which are delicious, though you don’t want to go overboard with them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

