Skip to content
Too Much of a Good Thing

November 5, 2011

For the past two weeks I have been going meatless Monday through Friday, and until Thursday I felt absolutely fabulous. Let me explain.

Giving my new lease on nutrition and taking better care of myself, I decided to take my meatless week to the next level and incorporate a juice fast. Now several weeks ago I had the opportunity to meet Tammy Stokes of West Coast Workout for the next In to Out Series. We met at the awesomely healthful Arden’s Garden located in Buckhead, where Grand Slams abound. It was here that I was introduced to the powerful wheatgrass shot.  Wheatgrass is packed with many nutrients and benefits and should be respected when consumed. I was warned about this when I took my first one ounce shot. Well, I totally forgot this on yesterday; I took TWO shots of wheatgrass along with fresh carrot, apple and ginger root juice.

I was all excited and feeling wonderful. Listening to my favorite radio station (91.9fm WCLK) on the way back to work, bobbing my head to some smooth jazz. Then it hit me – waves of nausea I had not felt since I was pregnant. At first I was totally confused and could not understand why my hearty mix turned Mr. Hyde. So once back at the office I googled all of the ingredients and then it all came rushing back – “wheatgrass juice is very concentrated and will cause nausea when over consumed”.

Lesson – just because you practice a healthy nutritional plan does not mean that you can eat all there is to eat as much as you want to eat. Like any drug given by doctors or purchased over the counter, we have to be mindful of the effects of raw foods, herbal supplements, and other alternative health substances.

I will continue to drink fresh juices along with wheatgrass juice because they are excellent for the body. But too much of a good thing is just that – too much.

Leave a Reply

