Skip to content
Rapunzel, Rapunzel Where is Your Hair?

September 30, 2011

Like I stated on Wednesday, I wanted to take some time to chat about the 2 year journey I’ve been on with my hair. I know, I know, who HASN’T told their story. But to be fair, going from status quo to fully embracing your tresses is a big deal and, in fact, should be celebrated. When I say 2-year journey, that’s really a misnomer. It’s more like a 28-year journey since I got a Jheri Curl at the age of 9. Did that for a couple of years, then started perming. You know the story – it’s not new. But the moral of this story is 1) Natural hair is versatile, and 2) everything ain’t for everybody. Many people wear perms beautifully, so I’m not downing that at all. I’m just not one of them. With a perm my hair would look great for about a week and then it turned drab, dry, and dreary-breakin’ and snappin’. This became a vicious cycle, but the day I saw the shadow under my bed, I’d had enough!

I wore my hair short all the time. The cuts were great, always neat and chic. I just couldn’t retain any length and just accepted that I was not one of those people who could. Then after my crying session on the floor, I began Operation Natural in October of 2009. Below is my hair trend from 2009 to today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When my mother started wearing her hair in a gorgeous natural that perfectly frames her face, I asked her how did she get to that point. And her words of wisdom struck me when she said, “It’s a mind thing”. I totally get that now. When you work things out it your mind, other people’s opinions mean very little. The criticisms as well as the compliments roll where they may.

In part deux, I will share how I transitioned to the versatile, vivacious head of hair I have today. In the meantime…

~Live Healthy. Look Healthy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Juanita permalink
    October 1, 2011 10:16 pm

    Girl I have got to give it to you, you are very courageous! Whom “I wonder where you get
    that from ?

    Guess who

  2. Wonji permalink
    October 2, 2011 11:10 pm

    Awesome article! You’ve really inspired to me!!

  3. Ronia permalink
    October 3, 2011 7:00 am

    I totally understand. I have been natural for the last 12 years. No turning back

  4. November 11, 2011 9:51 pm

    Well Lahronda, I know all the phases you’ve gone through with your hair. I must say that I love your hair in the natural state. Your hair is healthier and not to mention you are very creative with the different styles you wear.

Trackbacks

  1. Kulot Factor « Living Out Lod(Rose)!
  2. Hair Health: The Rapunzel Sequel « Live Healthy, Look Healthy

Leave a Reply

